Logo: Deutsches Institut für Internationale Pädagogische Forschung

About us


DIPF constitution stipulates three boards: Foundation Council, Governing Board, Scientific Advisory Board

DIPF constitution stipulates three boards:

Foundation Council

The Foundation Council monitors the fulfilment of the foundation’s purposes and the legal correctness, purpose-orientation and economy of the management by the Institute’s Governing Board


  • Prof. Dr. E. Jürgen Zöllner, Executive Director Stiftung Charité

Deputy chair

  • Anja Steinhofer-Adam, Hesse Ministry of Science and Arts

Further Members

  • Dr. Ilona Baudis, Senate Administrator for Economy, Technology and Research, Berlin
  • Sabine Brünger-Weilandt, Fachinformationszentrum Karlsruhe
  • Sarah Sorge, Departmetment for Education and Women, City of Frankfurt
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Gold, Goethe University Frankfurt
  • Prof. Dr. Cornelia Gräsel, Bergische Universität Wuppertal
  • Dr. Thomas Greiner, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, assistant under secretary
  • Staatsekretär Dr. Jan Hofmann, Kultusministerkonferenz (KMK), Kultusministerium Sachsen-Anhalt
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Anand Pant, Institut zur Qualitätsentwicklung im Bildungswesen (IQB), Berlin
  • Jürgen Schlegel, secretary general (retired)
  • Ursula Zahn-Elliott, Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Advisory Members to the Foundation Council

  • Susanne Boomkamp-Dahmen, managing director
  • Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt, chair of Scientific Advisory Board
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Füssel, governing board
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn, director
  • Dr. Nina Jude, Chairperson of the general staff council
  • Prof. Dr. Eckhard Klieme, governing board
  • Dr. Stefanie Kollmann, ombudsperson for equal opportunities
  • Dr. Ute Paulokat, ombudsperson for equal opportunities
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Reh, governing board
  • Prof. Dr. Marc Rittberger, deputy director
  • Katja Lehmberg, elected staff representative
  • Dr. Joachim Scholz, elected staff representative

Governing Board

The Governing Board conducts the institute’s affairs according to the foundation’s constitution and decisions made by the Foundation Council. Its members are:

Executive Director

  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn
    Director of the Center for Research on Education and Human Development

Deputy Executive Director

  • Prof. Dr. Marc Rittberger
    Director of the Information Center for Education

Managing Director

Susanne Boomkamp-Dahmen

Further Members

  • Prof. Dr. Eckhard Klieme
    Director of the Center of Research on Educational Quality and Evaluation
  • Prof. Dr. Kai Maaz
    Director of the Center of Research on Educational Governance
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Reh
    Director of the Research Library for the History of Education

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board counsels the Foundation Council and the Governing Board as regards fundamental scholarly and general questions pertinent to work and development programmes as well as international and national co-operations of the Institute. Its members are:


  • Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt, Universität Bamberg

Deputy Chair:

  • Prof. Dr. Martin J. Eppler, University of St. Gallen (Schweiz)

Further Members

  • Prof. Dr. Peter Drewek, Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Prof. Dr. Ingrid Gogolin, Institut für Internationale Interkulturell Vergleichende Erziehungswissenschaft, University of Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Hammwöhner, IMIK Institut für Medien-, Informations- und Kulturwissenschaft, University of Regensburg
  • Prof. Dr. Ulman Lindenberger, Max-Planck-Institute for Educational Research, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. C. Katharina Spieß, German Institute for Economic Research (DIW), Berlin
last modified Mar 02, 2017
Knowledge for Education

Profile and Overview 2013/2014

This brief overview presents the most important milestones of work conducted at DIPF in the past two years

Cover Profile and Overview 2013-2014

e-book (epub, mobi)

DIPF-Flyer "Knowledge for Education"